New morning

It can be done in a pinch

It can be done in a pinch

Continuing work on violence against women: a metaphorical excursion

Continuing work on violence against women: a metaphorical excursion

The birds are chirping happily outside and it is blissfully quiet, unlike the constant hubbub of home turf. The jingling of last night’s bizarre dreams let me know the consequences of the active mind. I was bitten by a large snake, looking for a doctor amid lovely apartments I was viewing. Very tactile, very sensual. I’m 15 minutes away from the day’s destination: The University of the Arts in Philadelphia. I came from Northern New Jersey to rest in southern NJ in order to be fresh for the bone tool workshop. I especially like Shanna Leino’s metal tools so we’ll see if she brought some of those. They are unique and beautiful. I made my own sculpture tools a long time ago and they were spirited away (yes, that’s another story too). I do enjoy making things. I quit my job as a journalist in 2009 and have been learning and making, and making and learning ever since. This is my delight and my journey.

BTW above is a quick fix for a sewing station that resulted in the book with the snake pattern cover (strange brew, yes?). I had a wood carton hanging on the wall to hold up DVDs. Off it came. Using sewing tapes & safety pins with heavy metal type for weights, I carried on successfully. Anything is possible in a quick and tumble world.

Leave a Reply

